Baseball Hall of Fame has No 2013 Inductees, First Time Since 1996

Baseball Hall of Fame has No 2013 Inductees, First Time Since 1996

Posted by


The Baseball Hall of Fame for the first time since 1996 will have no inductees.

This is the first year that most the players who are suspected to be steroid users are all on the ballot.

Barry Bonds, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Roger Clemens, and Rafael Palmeiro all received less than 38% of the vote.

The minimum needed to be inducted is 75% and the players are voted in by Baseball’s Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Five voters left their ballot blank and this is only the 8th time where there was a year with no inductees.

Below is the list of all the players who received a vote

Craig Biggio 68.2%
Jack Morris 67.7%
Jeff Bagwell 59.6%
Mike Piazza 57.8%
Tim Raines 52.2%
Lee Smith 47.8%
Curt Schilling 38.8%
Roger Clemens 37.6%
Barry Bonds 36.2%
Edgar Martinez 35.9%
Alan Trammell 33.6%
Larry Walker 21.6%
Fred McGriff 20.7%
Dale Murphy 18.6%
Mark McGwire 16.9%
Don Mattingly 13.2%
Sammy Sosa 12.5%
Rafael Palmeiro 8.8%

These are other players that also received votes;
Bernie Williams 19 votes
Kenny Lofton 18 votes
Sandy Alomar Jr. 16 votes
Julio Franco 6 votes
David Wells 5 votes
Steve Finley 4 votes
Shawn Green 2 votes
Aaron Sele 1vote


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *